Know Thy Clearance Sections: The Perfect Word Art for the Perfect Space

We rent our current house, and we know we’ll only be here for a few years, so you can imagine that “permanent” is not a useful term when it comes to decorating.  “Expensive” is another one you won’t see me flout around.  Even if I find the single most perfect item to go in a room, there’s nothing that says it will go in the next home we live in or any other home further down the road.  Thus, I say, “Know Thy Clearance Sections.”

I don’t ever want to feel like I have to use some little piece of decor just because it cost me an arm and a leg, and I also don’t want to face my husband with a huge receipt for something that I can’t use long-term.  Being on a tight budget, however, does not mean that I can’t find the perfect piece at a great price.  Two of my favorite places to shop are Kohl’s and Target.  It’s not that you can’t find more expensive things there, but if you’re smart about your shopping, you can find some extraordinarily good deals.  Both places have special items on sale or clearance daily.  Sale items are typically interspersed with their more expensive cousins, but there are some magical sections of clearance that are worth investigating on a regular basis.  In either store, for each main section (home, bath, toys, kids, shoes, etc.) I have found that there is at least one shelf or rack that is clearly labeled “clearance” and has new items added to it on an almost weekly basis.  It is here that I find some of the best things for my house, my husband and me, or my little munchkin.  Go to your local stores, and familiarize yourself with your clearance sections; it will be worth your while.  On the flip side, I will say it is rare for me to make a “quick trip” into either store, because every time I go in, I like to troll along through each clearance section each time I visit.  You just never know what you’ll find!  Items might be marked down anywhere from 30% to 80% off depending upon the item, manufacturer, etc.  Frequently, I find things that are just what I wanted and are of equal or better quality to more expensive items elsewhere in the store or in other stores altogether.

Our current master bedroom has a vaulted ceiling and provides a huge blank space above our bed.  In our previous home, we had a sort of collage of artwork above the bed from Quebec where we honeymooned.  In general, this room is much bigger, and so the artwork has become scattered to smaller spots throughout the space, thus leaving the gaping white above the headboard.  See below.

Thankfully, Kohl’s came to the rescue.  Removable vinyl lettering seems to be very en vogue right now, which is perfect for a military home.  They go up easily, and they come down easily.  No worries about how to “fix it” when we move out a few years down the road.  In one of my magical clearance sections, I came across one such vinyl set that was going to be just perfect for our room.  I should start with saying that when my husband and I got married, I took issue with the “until we are parted by death” portion of the Episcopal vows, and so we dropped that and subbed in “forever and ever.”  My husband is stuck with me and just me – forever!  So you can imagine, when I found the lettering set that reads, “Just one lifetime won’t be enough for us,” I knew it would be more than perfect for our room.  To top it off, instead of the regular price of $29.99, it was on clearance at Kohl’s for $11.99.  Add in a 20% off shopping pass (which Kohl’s issues out almost every other week in the mail or via e-mail), and that brings it down to $9.60.  In case you were wondering, that’s 68% off.  My kind of deal.

Down below, you can see the finished project.  My set was made by Once Upon a Wall, and while it is “removable” it is not “reusable.”  You can do some minor adjustments as you are applying it to the wall, but you really want to make certain that you have measured out its height to where you want it to be and that the words will by and large be level.  Additionally, because the letters come rolled up on application paper inside of a tube, you definitely want to give it some time, as per the instructions, to flatten out, but even with that, I found that there would be a few creases in the paper.  What I did (and would suggest), is try to corral the creases into the spaces in between the words.  This will prevent there from being bubbles under the letters.  All in all, I’m very pleased with how it turned out, and love that it fills some of the space above the bed with love (and all on a “temporary home” budget)!

Leave a Reply

